Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

What a Privilege to Wear my Nametag!

Hello Family and Friends!

Last week was a tough week for us. It seemed like everything went wrong. But looking on the bright side, we were able to meet some really amazing people. Also, I received two wonderful messages from the missionaries serving in my two old areas (Novo Oriente and Russas) that a couple that I baptized in my first area (Daniel and Elaine) returned back to church. They were baptized then went inactive. I’ve kept contact with Daniel since the beginning of my mission and when he returned back to church, he sent me an email saying that he returned back to church with his wife and that they are really happy. The other message I received is that Marcus, who was baptized in Russas, sent his missionary paperwork in the mail and he is waiting to find out where he will go on his mission!

I cannot possibly express the depth of gratitude and joy I feel at hearing this wonderful news! These are the blessings of serving a mission. I cannot believe how someone like me, a person who had to work so hard at teaching the gospel of Jesus Christ in the Portuguese language, could have been part of such wonderful experiences. I am so grateful for the opportunity I have had to serve my mission. I am so grateful for the people I’ve met. I am so grateful for the lives that have been changed. I love the hope that Christ brings to those who are lost and in dark places. I know that Christ lives and I am so grateful to represent him here on earth. What a privilege to wear my nametag with his name on it. Taking that away from me will be one of the hardest things for me because I have loved serving as his representative and carrying his message to the people in Brazil.

I’d like to finish my email by sharing my testimony with all those who have lost someone important in their lives. You need to know that God has a plan. Know that your loved ones will live again. Know that you will see them again. Know that they are in a better place. Know that they love you and that they do not want to see you grieving for them. They want you to be happy. Know that they are busy helping you on the other side. Know that if you keep the commandments that you will be able to be with them forever in complete happiness. If you have any doubts about this, then you should pray and you will feel the truthfulness of this in your heart and in your mind. Let God take away your sorrow and replace the emptiness with comfort and peace. God bless you.

Love you all,

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

