Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

Finishing my Mission in Fortaleza!

Hello Family and Friends!

I was not transferred, so I will be finishing my mission here in Fortaleza (I’m starting my last transfer). I did receive a new companion. His name is Elder Machado. He is from southern Brazil in an area called Porto Alegre. He has served on his mission for about 1 year and 6 months. He is recovering from a bad knee injury. My email will be short this week because of the change of companion. I look forward to working with him. He seems like a great missionary.

This last week, Bianca and Roberta (Roberta is the one who recently had a new baby) were confirmed members of the church. Cristiane and Batisita (the owners of the pizza restaurant) have received answers to their prayers and have decided to be baptized after their marriage (which will happen in about one month). They are such amazing people.

I want all of you to know that I love my Savior and I am grateful for all that he has done for me. What a blessing it is to know that I can repent of my sins and mistakes every single day. Through the Savior’s sacrifice, I can be clean, happy, and saved in the kingdom of my Heavenly Father with my family by my side forever. I know that Heavenly Father and his Son live and that they give me the help and strength I need to be able to do their will and keep the commandments. I know that Jesus Christ has restored his church here on the Earth and that the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is his true and only church. I have taught so many people who have received a spiritual confirmation of this that I could never deny the reality of this truth. I’m grateful for all of the wonderful people that I have met on my mission and the help that I was able to give them in these last 2 years. I have learned a huge lesson on my mission, that no matter how hard things get, that God is on our side and that we should never give up, but we should learn the purpose of our trials and be grateful for the strength they give us. I have gotten to know my Savior in a personal way. My testimony of him and his love for us has been amplified 100%. I know these things are true.

Love,

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

