Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

Bianca is Baptized!

Hello Family and Friends!

Guess what?  Remember I told you about a young woman who I felt sure that she would be baptized soon?  Well Bianca was baptized last week!  I was so happy for her.  She will do wonderful things in her life.

This week, we had interviews with President Leite.  And this week will be the last transfer possibility before I leave.  Isn’t this crazy?  I’m happy that I’ve been able to keep my head in the game as I am nearing the completion of my mission.  I have a great desire to finish my mission “on fire” about the work.  I want to run to the finish line.  It’s hard but I will give it my all.  I’m a little nervous to know whether I will be transferred this week.  I’d rather spend the remaining 6 weeks here.

We travelled a lot this week to prepare for the marriage of Cristiane and Betista, the owners of a pizza restaurant here.  I like them quite a bit and not because of the pizza they give us either!  Haha!  I’m excited to see them get married and baptized.

I also travelled to Pindoretama, which is quite a distance from Fortaleza.  I was helping the sister missionaries with a few things in their area.  It felt good to be able to help them.

Impressions of Brazil:

  1. I’ve met quite a few people in Brazil who are studying to be preachers so they can open new churches.
  2. Wearing cologne and perfume is very popular here.  Everyone, even really young people, wear it.  And vendors are selling it in the streets.

There are so many people that I have come to know who have said that they feel abandoned by God.  Or that they feel like no one knows what they are feeling.  I think we have all been there at one time.  I have.  In these hard times, I can say that it wasn’t easy and that I suffered a lot.  But in the end, I came out of these trials and tests stronger and with a greater knowledge of how to help others who are going through hard things.  I know and can testify to you that God does not abandon his children.  He is your Father and is aware of the pain you are experiencing.  He loves you and knows that you need to go through these trials to become stronger, to become better.  He does not have joy in the fact that you are in pain.  He cries and suffers along with you.  Have patience in the promise of God that everything will “work together for your good”.

I love you,

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

