Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

Last Mission Conference With President and Sister Fusco

Hello Family and Friends!

Sorry about being late with my email this week.  But President and Sister Fusco surprised us with their final mission conference on Monday.  Honestly, it was the best mission conference I have had.  It lasted basically the entire day and I learned so much.  I could feel their love for us and their sadness in leaving the mission field.  To me, the best part of the conference was the final testimony of President Fusco.

He spoke about the difficulties and challenges he had growing up, having very little money.  He said that he had to leave on his mission at a time when his mother was very sick and that his mom died not long after he returned from his mission.  He felt that he was never given easy options in life, but had to always work hard to accomplish anything.  He said that God gives us challenges to test our faith and to help us become the best that we can be.  But with all the challenges that he had, he said that God never left him alone, even when it seemed that every door was closed in his life and that his future looked dark.  He said that God was holding him in his arms in those moments.  He encouraged us to not give up when things get hard and that we will become strong through these trials, like he has become strong.

I absolutely love President Fusco and his wife.  It has been so hard to see them prepare to leave us.  But I look forward to getting to know the new mission president and his wife, President and Sister Leite.  I have no doubt that they will be incredible leaders.  But I am so grateful that I was able to know President and Sister Fusco.  They have changed my life.  They have helped me to gain a strong testimony of my Savior, Jesus Christ and his gospel.  They have helped me to learn the love of hard work.  They have helped me to learn how to love all people, no matter who they are or what they have done.  They have helped me to understand that I am a child of the living God and that I have potential to be like him one day because of the atonement of Jesus Christ.  I love them so much and wish them the very best with their lives.

Impressions of Brazil:

  • The favorite pastime of most people here is flying kites!  Literally EVERYONE flies kites.  It is actually quite cool to see so many kites flying in the air!

This last week while we were visiting some people, out of nowhere, a family approached us.  In the past, this family had attended our church and the children were even baptized.  But they became less active.  Over time, the parents separated.  So when we met and began teaching the mom, Eleude, she told us that she wanted to get baptized.  So last week, we had the blessing of participating in her baptism.  This was truly a miracle, because she had been forgotten.  I feel that God literally put her in our path so that she could be baptized.

Until next week!

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

