Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

Mothers

Hello Family and Friends!

I hope all the great women out there enjoyed Mother’s Day yesterday!  I love the talk given by Elder Holland in General Conference last year on the subject of Mothers.  He quoted Isaiah who was comparing Christ’s love for each of us to the love that a mother has for her child, “Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb?  Yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee.”  (Isaiah 49:15)  This quote really hit me.  Could a loving mother ever forget her own child?  The love between a mother and a child is so amazing.  She could never forget her child.  Christ’s love for us is like this, only much more.  It’s something that’s hard to imagine.

In my life, I have witnessed the loving acts of God inspired mothers.  I have seen the service, the sacrifice, the work, and the protection given by these women.  They never give up on their children, no matter how lost they may be.  They always have hope that they will return back to the good path.  I have so much respect for the good mothers of the world and everything they do for others.  I love my mother and I’m grateful that she never gave up on me in hard times and always motivated me to become better.  As Elder Holland said in his talk, “To all of our mothers everywhere, past, present, or future, I say, Thank you. Thank you for giving birth, for shaping souls, for forming character, and for demonstrating the pure love of Christ.”  To me, you are like saviors.  You are supporting the divine purpose of God, which is to save all of his children.  Without you, the world would be lost.  I feel so strongly about this and I wanted to let you know how I felt.

Last week was so busy, because we had a ton of people to teach and so little time to teach them.  We had to do a lot of splits with the members to be able to keep up with all the work.  One of the areas in our zone was closed this last transfer.  So we will be taking care of all that area (it’s huge).  One of the missionaries that worked in that area stayed behind to introduce us to the new converts and less active members, as well as the investigators.  This helped a lot.  This last week, we had a lot of success in our area.  Many people are progressing and are excited to be baptized.  I will tell you more in future emails about Gustavo, Cintia, and Pedro.  They are awesome investigators.  We had 10 missionaries in the zone, but with the recent changes, we now have 8, which is a really small zone.  Also with this last transfer, guess who is now in my zone?  Elder Jenicek!  Remember him?  I trained him when he arrived 9 months ago.

Impressions of Brazil:

  1. People make pancakes here, but they are not sweet.  They are salty.
  2. People use the toaster a lot to toast sandwiches.
  3. Almost everyone we speak with in our new area has heard about the church.  This is so different from serving in rural towns because almost no one has heard of the church there.

I want you to know that I love you and miss you.  Have a great week!

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

