Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

Easter in Brazil!

Hello Family and Friends!

I don’t have much time to write today because I am being transferred. I will be leaving Quixadá at 11 am and heading to Fortaleza. My new area is in José Waldo. I’m so grateful for my time here in Quixadá and the wonderful people I got to know. It is always very sad to say goodbye to people that you have served and loved. I will miss many, but I’m grateful for the opportunity I now have to serve the people in Fortaleza.

Impressions of Brazil:

1) During Easter no one works and everyone eats only fish. A member of the branch invited us over and we feasted on fish and other Brazilian foods. It was reallllly good. I will send pictures soon.

2) There is a tradition that on Easter the kids make a doll representing Judas, the apostle who betrayed Jesus Christ, and they burn him in a bonfire!

I testify that I know Christ lives. I know that he rose from the tomb and that he was resurrected into a perfect immortal body of flesh and bones. I know that because he lives, we will also live again after death. I know that he still guides his church through a living prophet of God, President Thomas S. Monson. I have so much gratitude for that Man who died and was resurrected, thus giving my family the opportunity to be with each other for eternity, which is the biggest blessing that could ever happen in my life. I’m grateful for the time I have to return a little of the debt that I owe Him through my missionary service. It is a small price to pay for the infinite and loving sacrifice that he has made for me and my family.

I love you all and I hope that you enjoyed a wonderful Easter!

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

