Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

I Love My Mission!

Hello Family and Friends!

My companion was transferred last Tuesday!  My new companion is Elder Mella.  He has been on his mission for as long as I have.  He is an excellent missionary and has spent most of his mission until now as a Zone Leader.  I have much to learn from him.  He is from Sao Paulo and is a convert to the church.  He was baptized when he was 10 years old.  I’m excited to work with him.

Last week, we brought 9 investigators to church with us.  This was a direct result of member missionary work, because several of these 9 people live in the same house.  A young member named Luana, who recently returned back into full activity in the church, introduced us to the family.  This family of 10 has been very interested in our message.  4 of the daughters attended church last Sunday, loved the experience, and are excited to return next Sunday.  The missionary work is moving along quite well, but there is always room for improvement.

I love my mission.  I feel very relaxed now.  No stress.  I love the work.  Everything is coming together for me.  I am able to recognize the miracles that God gives us every day.  One of the wonderful realizations I have had on my mission is to be able to clearly recognize when God is speaking with me.  I have also gained a much stronger testimony of the power of prayer.  I am so thankful for all that I have learned on my mission.

Impressions of Brazil:

  1. For those of you who would love to travel to Brazil, here’s a little advice.  Bring bug repellant and begin using a hammock so that you feel comfortable with it.  Also prepare your stomach by eating lots of beans, rice, and chicken.  And most importantly, bring a fan or buy one here.  Without it, you will die.  (It’s the only way you will be able to sleep at night.)
  2. Brazil is beautiful.  Visit the city of Fortaleza, but make sure you feel comfortable riding on buses.  It is the main form of transportation.

I love the verse from John 14:15, “If ye love me, keep my commandments.”  The best way to show your love for the Savior and your appreciation for all that he has done for you is to keep his commandments.  They are given for our benefit and growth.

I miss and love you!

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

