Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

The Savior is at My Side

Hello Family and Friends!

This week was good in many ways.  I’ll admit that I often have feelings of inadequacy in doing this work, but I know that God qualifies those he calls to the ministry.  I know that by the power of God and the atoning sacrifice of the Savior, nothing is impossible.  I sometimes feel that problems don’t have solutions, but then I study the scriptures and I find the answers I am looking for and the solutions to many of my problems.  I sometimes feel alone in my challenges, but I know without any doubt, that my Savior is at my side and the powerful influence of the Holy Ghost is always available to guide me and comfort me and remind me that even one child of God can make a difference.

One of the absolutely wonderful blessings of this week was to watch a great couple make the decision to get married in order to keep the commandments of God and prepare themselves for baptism.  Their names are Bianca and Nilberto and they have two small children.  We found them while tracting one day.  Ironically, President Emanuel knew Nilberto because they took a course together at a local college.  Nilberto is a mechanic, but has the ability to construct homes.  He is incredibly gifted at fixing things.  He is currently building his own home.  They will be married on February 16th.  And shortly thereafter, they will be baptized.

And on to the weather…it is raining a lot here in Quixada, which is great for the very dry Northeastern part of Brazil.

Impressions of Brazil:

  1. I’ve already told you about the cold winds that come with the rain here.  And I’ve told you about the massive amount of frogs that suddenly appear with the rain.  But I haven’t told you about the flies and the mosquitoes yet.  The flies and the mosquitoes are not normal here.  They basically attack you in your eyes, nose, ears and about everywhere else.  So if you want to send a bug trap to me, it would be greatly appreciated!  Haha!
  2. One of the most popular dances in northeastern Brazil is called the Forro.  I’m told that Brazilian dance styles have become really popular in the world.

I love my family.  I am eternally grateful for my parents and the way they raised me.  Looking back on it now, I’m grateful for the rules they set for me and the punishments when I broke those rules.  They set boundaries that helped me to become worthy to serve a mission.  To my friends, be grateful for your parents and the standards they keep in your home.  The rules and the guidelines are just another measure of their love for you.  They serve as a safeguard for you and will help you to be happy and successful in life.  God has also set rules for us so that we might be happy.  And there is no one that loves us more than him.

I love you,

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

