Elder Matthew Nielsen

"You are assigned to labor in the Brazil Fortaleza East mission"

God Hears and Answers Prayers

Hello Family and Friends!

Some really great things are happening in our mission! But before I get to that, the Russas rain continues to fall. My companion caught a cold and was sick during the beginning of the week, then I got that same cold for the last part of the week! The good news is that we are feeling MUCH better now and are really excited to hit it hard this coming week.  With the change of climate, a lot of members are getting sick as well and have been calling on the missionaries to give Priesthood blessings. Which gave me the amazing opportunity to bless some great people! This coming week is interview/ training week with the President and we will be traveling to Fortaleza on Wednesday to do that.

In other news, my mission president has received a counselor and our mission has received a married missionary couple.

Some random facts: All ward buildings in Brazil basically have the same architectural style and the stake buildings almost always have more than one story. Sacrament meetings used to always be last instead of first. The Addiction Recovery Program (ARP) had its first meeting one month ago. I have only had Brazilian companions. My current companion knows quite a bit of English and will study at BYU – Provo next year.

Impressions of Brazil:

  1. After you get a haircut, it is a  tradition that you slap the back of the person’s head saying “Tirei o selo.”
  2. No one pours tomato sauce on noodles, which leaves them with no flavor. I put butter on them once and everyone thought I was weird!
  3. Almost no one will make a salad for lunch and if they do it will be plain with no dressing. Sometimes they will put lemon and oil on their salads, but generally they just leave it plain.

I have learned a lot about receiving revelation from God recently. I can literally bring a pencil and paper to a prayer and have a conversation with God and ask his opinion on what I should do and write down his response. That is such an amazing thing to me that he takes the time for ONE of his children who is asking for help. God wants to help us. He is waiting for us to ask him questions. We just need to exercise our faith in the process of prayer.  And listen for the promptings of the Spirit. He loves us. I testify of that.

My love to you all,

Elder Nielsen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

